Since the series first started, editorial policy has been shaped by a committee combining specialists with detailed knowledge of the repertory, scholars with a wider cultural perspective, and representatives of EECM's sponsor, the British Academy.  

In its first decade, EECM's driving force was its first general editor, Frank Harrison, fellow of Merton College, Oxford; he was joined by his student John Bergsagel as executive editor, and by Anthony Carey Lewis (1915-83), the general editor of EECM's influencial elder sibling, Musica Britannica, which published Harrison's monumental edition of the Eton Choirbook (the first EECM volumes clearly show the impact of this relationship with MB). Jack Westrup, at the time professor of music at Oxford, chaired the committee which also included three eminent Fellows of the British Academy: the bibliographer Sir Walter Oakeshott (1903-87), president of Lincoln College, Oxford; Sir Ernst Gombrich (1909-2001), art historian and professor at the Warburg Institute; and Regius Professor of Divinity at Oxford, Sir Henry Chadwick (1920-2008), who was himself a talented musician.


Committee members since 1961

Jack Westrup 1961-74 (Chairman 1961-71)

Frank Llewelyn Harrison 1961-82 (General Editor 1961-72)

John Bergsagel 1961-84 (Executive Editor 1961-73)

Henry Chadwick 1961-98

Ernst Gombrich 1961-70

Anthony Lewis 1961-82

Walter Oakeshott 1965-70

Egon Wellesz 1966-70

Gerald Abraham 1970-82 (Chairman 1971-79)

Paul Doe 1970-99 (General Editor 1972-80; Chairman 1980-95)

Alec Hyatt King 1970-79

David Lumsden 1970-73

Peter le Huray 1970-90

John Morehen 1972-95 (General Editor 1980-95)

John Stevens 1977-92

Brian Trowell 1977-92

Margaret Bent 1974-76, 1989-present (Chairman 2010-12)

Nicholas Sandon 1985-86

Oliver Neighbour 1986-2000 (Chairman 1996-2000)

Andrew Wathey 1989-2013 (Chairman 2000-2010)

Alan Brown 1990-91

John Milsom 1991-6, 2007-present

John Caldwell 1992-present (General Editor 1995-2008)

Reinhard Strohm 1994-2008

David Fallows 1995-present

Gareth Curtis 1996-98

David Skinner 1998-present (General Editor 2021-)

John Harper 1998-present (Chairman 2020-2021)

Magnus Williamson 2001-present (General Editor 2008-2021)

Peter Wright 2002-2020 (Chairman 2012-2020)

Susan Rankin 2004-present

Timothy Symons 2008-present

Andrew Johnstone 2011-present

Andrew Kirkman 2015-present

James Cook 2020-present

Lisa Colton 2020-present

Henry Parkes 2020-present